The mission of the Equity and Empowerment Steering Committee is to promote excellence in all aspects of Upper Dublin School District facilitating processes that remove barriers to access and advancement on the basis of race, gender identity, sex, sexual orientation, socioeconomic class, religion, or disability for students and staff. Excellence—embracing and exhibiting the highest level of quality in research, teaching and service—can be achieved when diverse perspectives are engaged. Excellence and Equity Steering Committee


The Equity and Empowerment Steering Committee (EESC) cordially invites interested members of the District and community to join one of our committees by emailing committee chairs.

Equity and Empowerment Steering Committee Chair: Meredith Penner

Sub-committees

Asian-American Students and Families: Cynthia-Ruiping Song (ruipingsong@gmail.com) and Liang Ling (liangling6@gmail.com)

African-American/Black Students and Families: Mychal Bligen (mbligen@udsd.org) and Melonie Butler (melonie@becubedmarketing.com)

Faith-based Students and Families: Kim Callahan (kcallaha@udsd.org) Pam Olshefski (pamela.olshefski@yahoo.com)

Gender Equity Students and Family Committee: Claire Biermaas (cbiermaas@amerisourcebergen.com) and Lisa Curcio (lisa.curcio@td.com)

LGBT Students and Families: Joanne DeGirolamo (jdegirol@udsd.organd Gary Hite (ghite@udsd.org)

Special Education Students and Families: Meredith Penner (mpenner@udsd.org)