Gifted Education

Upper Dublin School District’s Gifted Program is dedicated to maintaining a comprehensive set of strategies for the identification, education, and guidance of gifted students.  The District seeks to provide appropriate educational experiences and enrichment opportunities to meet the distinct and diverse needs of gifted students. The District views effective gifted education as a shared, collaborative effort involving educators, parents/guardians, students, and the community.

Gifted Programs

Elementary School

Students at the elementary level receive enrichment in the general education classroom, as well as instruction in an eighty-minute weekly itinerant pull-out program with gifted peers.  Within the general education classroom, enrichment activities and above grade level instructional materials are developed in collaboration with the reading specialists, instructional support specialists, and curriculum leaders. The itinerant pull-out program focuses on strengthening problem solving skills for critical and creative thinking.

Middle School

Students at the middle school level receive gifted services through content area courses, as well as, the general education classroom in the form of enrichment.  In sixth grade, all gifted students receive science instruction together, allowing the core curriculum to be delivered in greater depth. Seventh grade gifted students are enrolled in language arts together, and in eighth grade, enrolled in gifted social studies.

High School

At the high school level, gifted students have the opportunity to participate in honors and advanced placement courses to meet their instructional needs.  If additional challenge beyond honors and advanced placement is found to be necessary, Gifted Individualized Education Plans (GIEPs) are established to meet individual student’s needs.  In addition, all gifted students have the opportunity to participate in an independent study project, under the guidance of a mentor from the faculty. Independent study courses are assigned credit based upon the amount of time dedicated to the independent study.

Identification Process for Gifted Referrals

Child Find and Referral Process

The Upper Dublin School District utilizes multiple methods for the child find of potentially gifted students.  These methods include parent/guardian, student, and staff referrals, review of data collected through curriculum based assessments, benchmark diagnostic assessments (STAR) in reading and math, and review of annual PSSA scores. Additionally, at the end of first grade, each student is administered a district-wide assessment of aptitude. Upper Dublin has adopted The Naglieri Nonverbal Ability Test (NNAT) as this measure. The NNAT is a nonverbal test of general ability commonly used to identify gifted children. Once a student is identified through the Child Find process, the school-based team meets to review the available data and teacher input.  If the student meets criteria for further evaluation, a comprehensive gifted evaluation will be conducted. When a student is determined to be eligible for and in need of Gifted Education Services, a Gifted Individualized Education Plan (GIEP) is developed. 

RESOURCES:

Pennsylvania Association of Gifted Education (PAGE)

http://www.giftedpage.org/

Gifted Summer Institute

http://www.giftedstudy.org/newsletter/

National Resource Center on the Gifted & Talented

http://gifted.uconn.edu/

The Gifted Child Society

http://www.gifted.org

Gifted Support Staff

Elementary 
Susan Parsons, sparsons@udsd.org
Alexandra Pixon, apixon@udsd.org
Jeffrey Dillon, jdillon@udsd.org

Sandy Run Middle School
Sandy Wish, swish@udsd.org
Tina Tofel, ttofel@udsd.org
Peta McCall, pmccall@udsd.org
Thanu George, tgeorge@udsd.org
Gary Hite, ghite@udsd.org

Upper Dublin High School 
Christine Jones, cjones@udsd.org

Supervisor of Elementary Education (K-6) – Meredith Penner, mpenner@udsd.org
Supervisor of Secondary Education (7-12) – Kim Schuler, kschuler@udsd.org
Chief Organization Officer – Kimberly Minor, kminor@udsd.org